NFL DraftNFL News

2022 Hula Bowl Hall of Fame Induction | Steve Spurrier, Tim Brown, Marcus Allen, Anthony Miller and Lou Holtz Inducted

2022 Hula Bowl Hall of Fame Induction

The Hula Bowl Hall of Fame was founded in 2019 to recognize the greatest collegiate players and coaches to have participated in a Hula Bowl All-Star Game. Congratulations to this year’s inductees.

Due to the onset of the pandemic, the Hula Bowl would like to further recognize members of the 2021 Hula Bowl HOF Class at this year’s induction including Tim Brown, Anthony Miller, and Steve Spurrier.

Tim Brown was a participant in the 1988 after winning the 1987 Heisman Trophy. Brown went on to have a Hall of Fame career, being a record-setting WR for the Raiders organization for 16 years.

Steve Spurrier participated in the 1967 Hula Bowl after winning the Heisman Trophy in 1966. He was the 3rd overall pick in 1967 by the San Francisco 49ers, going on to have a 10 year career in the NFL. Nowadays, Spurrier is most known for his time being a college head coach. He coached in 2 back-to-back National Championship games, and won the title in 1996. Spurrier also holds the distinction of being a head coach for the Hula Bowl in 1992.

Anthony Miller the former standout wide receiver from the Denver Broncos, and San Diego Chargers was inducted into the 2022 Hula Bowl Hall of Fame after an amazing career. The speedy receiver was a standout at the Hula Bowl which propelled him into a first round pick back in 1988.

The 2022 Hula Bowl Hall of Fame Inductees are Marcus Allen and Lou Holtz.

In 1981, Marcus Allen displayed sheer dominance in college football rushing for 2342 yards for the USC Trojans. After capping off that magnificent year of playing college, winning nearly every award imaginable, he went on to participate in the premiere all-star event of the Hula Bowl. Allen went on to have a fantastic career in the NFL for both the Raiders and the Chiefs, winning the Super Bowl as a young stud for Los Angeles in 1983. By the end of his NFL career, Allen had amassed over 12000 rushing yards and also played in 6 Pro Bowls.

Coach Lou Holtz has been a key contributor to the Hula Bowl, having the most appearances by a coach from the mainland with five (1979, 1989–1990, 1993, 1997). These appearances include times both as head coach and an assistant coach. Holtz was a coach of many different institutions, most notably winning a National Championship as the Head Coach of the Notre Dame Fighting Irish in 1988. He’s also been a well-renowned college football analyst for CBS and ESPN, having a well-loved memorable personality.

All the players were present to receive their awards. Here were some photos from the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner.

McKenzie Milton received the famous Joe Roth Award during the ceremony as well.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button