NFL Draft

26 players named as finalists for the Walter Payton Award in the FCS

Case Cookus of NAU was nominated as a finalist for the Walter Payton Award as the best offensive player in the FCS.



(FCS Offensive Player of the Year – 26 Finalists)

The Walter Payton Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding offensive player in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA) of college football as chosen by a nationwide panel of media and college sports information directors. Here are the 26 finalists:

  1. Kenji Bahar, QB, Monmouth
  2. Eric Barriere, QB, Eastern Washington
  3. Jordan Bentley, RB, Alabama A&M
  4. Julius Chestnut, RB, Sacred Heart
  5. Case Cookus, QB, Northern Arizona
  6. Zerrick Cooper, QB, Jacksonville State
  7. Domenic Cozier, RB, Holy Cross
  8. Tom Flacco, QB, Towson
  9. Pete Guerriero, RB, Monmouth
  10. Felix Harper, QB, Alcorn State
  11. Cade Johnson, WR, South Dakota State
  12. Trey Lance, QB, North Dakota State
  13. Jah-Maine Martin, RB, North Carolina A&T
  14. Aaron Parker, WR, Rhode Island
  15. Alex Ramsey, RB, VMI
  16. Kurt Rawlings, QB, Yale
  17. James Robinson, RB, Illinois State
  18. Chris Rowland, WR/RS, Tennessee State
  19. Reid Sinnett, QB, San Diego
  20. Breylin Smith, QB, Central Arkansas
  21. Daniel Smith, QB, Villanova
  22. Ryan Stanley, QB, Florida A&M
  23. Kevin Thomson, QB, Sacramento State
  24. Adam Trautman, TE, Dayton
  25. Aaron Winchester, QB, Central Connecticut State
  26. Bailey Zappe, QB, Houston Baptist

Damond Talbot

NFL Draft Diamonds was created to assist the underdogs playing the sport. We call them diamonds in the rough. My name is Damond Talbot, I have worked extremely hard to help hundreds of small school players over the past several years, and will continue my mission. We have several contributors on this site, and if they contribute their name and contact will be in the piece above. You can email me at

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button