NFL Draft

26 football players were named finalists for the Buck Buchanan Award

Morgan State linebacker Rico Kennedy has made the Buck Buchanan Award List as a Finalist.

The Buck Buchanan Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding defensive player in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA) of college football, and was first given in 1995 after the Walter Payton Award was designated solely for offensive players. Here are the 26 players named to the award.


(FCS Defensive Player of the Year – 26 Finalists)

  1. Anthony Adams, S, Portland State
  2. Bryson Armstrong, LB, Kennesaw State
  3. Ron’Dell Carter, DE, James Madison
  4. Jeremy Chinn, S, Southern Illinois
  5. John Daka, DE, James Madison
  6. Brandon Easterling, S, Dayton
  7. Willie Eubanks Jr., LB, The Citadel
  8. Cam Gill, LB, Wagner
  9. Zach Hall, LB, Southeast Missouri
  10. Kordell Jackson, DB, Austin Peay
  11. Rico Kennedy, LB, Morgan State
  12. Sully Laiche, DL, Nicholls
  13. Da’Jon Lee, LB, Saint Francis
  14. Greg Liggs Jr., CB, Elon
  15. Eli Mencer, DE, UAlbany
  16. Solomon Muhammad, LB, Alcorn State
  17. Dante Olson, LB, Montana
  18. Aaron Patrick, DL, Eastern Kentucky
  19. Christian Rozeboom, LB, South Dakota State
  20. Artevius Smith, DB, ETSU
  21. Elerson Smith, DL, Northern Iowa
  22. Bryce Sterk, LB, Montana State
  23. Isiah Swann, DB, Dartmouth
  24. Derrek Tuszka, DL, North Dakota State
  25. Nick Wheeler, DL, Colgate
  26. Keith Woetzel, LB, Lehigh

Damond Talbot

NFL Draft Diamonds was created to assist the underdogs playing the sport. We call them diamonds in the rough. My name is Damond Talbot, I have worked extremely hard to help hundreds of small school players over the past several years, and will continue my mission. We have several contributors on this site, and if they contribute their name and contact will be in the piece above. You can email me at

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button