Eagles RB McCoy brings home the rushing title for the first time since 1949

Before the game started on Sunday night, LeSean McCoy knew he would finish the season with the most rushing yards in the NFL, the first time an Eagle has done that since Steve Van Buren captured the rushing title in 1949.

Van Buren won the rushing titles in 1945 (832 yards), 1947 (1,008 yards), 1948 (945 yards) and in 1949 (1,146 yards).

McCoy led the NFL in rushing with 1,607 yards. Shady didn’t just have a good year, he had a great one.

McCoy not only won the rushing title but no one else even came close as there wasn’t another back with even 1,400 yards and he won the title by nearly 300 yards. The former Pitt star also set a new franchise record with the Philadelphia Eagles in the process, breaking Wilbert Montgomery’s mark set more than 30 years ago.

Shady continues to also be one of the league’s top receivers as a running back. When you add his 539 yards off of 52 catches this year, he had a total of more than 2,100 yards total.

Share this articleShare on Facebook1Tweet about this on Twitter2Share on Reddit0Pin on Pinterest0Share on LinkedIn0Share on Google+0Digg thisShare on StumbleUpon0
Do you follow the NFL Draft? If so follow NFL Draft Diamonds on Twitter and Facebook for up to date NFL Draft News, NFL Draft Projections, and NFL Draft Rankings. Jesus is the only way to Salvation
Privacy Policy